31 August–2 September 2015
Pasadena Convention Center, Pasadena, California


For over 75 years, AIAA has been a champion to make sure that aerospace professionals are recognized for their contributions. Join with us throughout the AIAA SPACE Forum as AIAA recognizes the very best in our industry: those individuals and teams who have taken aerospace technology to the next level…who have advanced the quality and depth of the aerospace profession…who have leveraged their aerospace knowledge for the benefit of society. Their achievements have inspired us to dream and to explore new frontiers.

We celebrate our industry's discoveries and achievements from the small but brilliantly simple innovations that affect everyday lives to the major discoveries and missions that fuel our collective human drive to explore and accomplish amazing things.


Scheduled Events

Monday, 31 August 2015, 1800 – 1900 hrs

von Kármán Lectureship in Astronautics


Robert Q. Fugate

Manager and Owner, Arctelum, LLC
Senior Research Advisor, Emeritus, New Mexico Tech
Former Senior Scientist, Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB
Albuquerque, New Mexico.

"For Laser Guide Star Adaptive Optics: A Revolution for Ground-Based Astronomy”

Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award
Dennis R. Jenkins
Aerospace Historian
Cape Canaveral, Florida
“Dressing for Altitude: U.S. Aviation Pressure Suits–Wiley Post to Space Shuttle.”
Space Operations and Support Award
Wind Operations Team
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Greenbelt, Maryland
Award Accepted by
Jacqueline Snell, Engineering Manager-Wind, Geotail and ACE Missions
“For exceptional ingenuity and personal sacrifice in the recovery of NASA’s Wind spacecraft.”
Space Systems Award
Herschel and Planck Project Team
European Space Agency
European Space Research and Technology Centre
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Award Accepted By Thomas Passvogel, Project Manager
“For outstanding scientific achievements recognized by the worldwide scientific community and for outstanding technical performances of the two satellites.”
von Braun Award for Excellence in Space Program Management
Lt. Gen. John T. “Tom” Sheridan
Senior Vice President and General Manager, Space
Vencore, Inc.
Alexandria, Virginia
“For exceptional performance in management of military and evolutionary space programs and excellent leadership in achieving national security space superiority.”
Certificate of Merit:
Space Architecture Best Paper
ICES-2014-264, "Habitat Design & Assessment at Varying Gravity Levels," David Akin, Katherine McBryan, Nicholas Liomparis, Nicholas D'Amore and Christopher Carlsen, University of Maryland.

Wednesday, 2 September 2014, 1200-1400 hrs
Recognition Luncheon – Celebrating Achievements In Space and Astronautics

Check back often for new developments.

Dates to Remember

  • Manuscript Deadline: 11 Aug 2015
  • Early Bird Reg Deadline: 17 Aug 2015
  • Cancellation Deadline: 17 Aug 2015

FAQsContact UsPoliciesMedia